1. So, what are you “war stories” What has kept you from writing that novel?
What has killed momentum, what are your excuses? Or, if you’ve never attempted a
novel, what’s stopping you? Do you think you ever will try it?

I feel like I have several war stories, if you will. All that stem from betrayal, deception, or some other "deadly sin". I would love to write a novel but I fear it would read like so many others, and that's not what I want. I want to write something that is so good that the readers are like "that was one damn good book". In a way, I fear I would not accomplish that because it wouldn't be good enough, or that it would read like so many others.

3. What do you think your strong suit is? Love of words? Sense of humor? Sense
of drama? Structure? What are your weak points? Like John Robinson, do you fear
plot or character? Do you use description to mask your weak points?

I think my strong suit is structure. Sometimes I concentrate so much on having a thesis, plot, etc., that I lose focus on the content and details. I definitely fear plot more than character. It's good to establish character through dialogue, which is one of my favorite parts of a piece to write.

5. Have you ever taken part in a writing marathon? How did it feel? How did it
affect your writing? If you have not, would you like to? What do you think you
could get out of it?

I've never taken part in a writing marathon, but I would love to. I feel like I work best under pressure  so I'd fit in well, if you will. I also think this would be a unique and exciting experience that would serve well as practice.

14. Do you have a piece of writing you are working on (or plan to work on) that
you wish to be published into a book? If so what is your motivation for writing
this book? Do you believe you are “realistic” about the certain outcomes of
selling your first book?

I do have a piece of work that I would love to be published. It would need to be expanded as it's only about 2000 words. It's a personal piece regarding an emotional upheaval my family and I suffered that ultimately resulted in betrayal and death of a close family member. A legal hurdle I'd have to jump is to get consent from all mentioned parties, and I'm not so sure I'm ready to do that yet, as some of their  wounds are still fresh. Maybe somewhere down the line I'll try to have it published.




Leave a Reply.