4. How would you handle yourself if your carefully crafted resume was sent out to employers and no response?

There have been several occasions where I sent my resume to different companies and never received a response. How I reacted depended on how badly I wanted the position. For example, about 10 years ago I sent my resume to a company whom I knew was hiring. A friend of mine worked there and recommended that I apply. There were lots of good perks with this job - good benefits, good pay, great atmosphere, and because of this, I was extremely interested in this job. After sending my resume and interviewing, I didn't hear back from them. I vowed that I would call them once every week for an update. The first couple of times I called, HR said that they had a good amount of applicants to sift through. Shortly after I called on the third week, they called me and offered me the position. Had I not been so persistent and not called on a weekly basis, I'm convinced that I would not have been offered the position. So, if it's a job you truly want, go after it. Be persistent. It worked for me!

5. What is the hardest task in creating a resume? What is the easiest?

For me, the hardest task is updating my resume and trying to determine what information to add or omit. The accepted structure for resumes always seem to be changing, and because of this, I'm always worried that my resume is not good enough or seems to be outdated. I also worry about the structure and organization - is it structured correctly and does it flow? I've never really felt confident in my resume, and I'm hoping this exe



Leave a Reply.