"Welcome to the Real World" was a very interesting and informative article to read. I plan to teach children after obtaining my degree, however I've always enjoyed writing and would like to maybe publish a children's book in the future, so this article has provided me with some insight.

One aspect of this article that surprised me was that "there are no jobs for writers." There are many different avenues a Writing Arts major can pursue (editing, etc.) and because of this, one would think that there are ample jobs out there. I think this misinformation lies in the fact that there are no ads in the newspaper that say "writers wanted". A true writer should actively pursue all possible venues; they should contact publishers and continuously send their pieces to publishers. Getting work published is not an easy task as it requires patience and perseverance. Many people share the belief that a good way to get your foot in the door at a publisher is to initially take an editing job. I personally would love to have an editing job, as I am a phanatic about grammar, punctuation, and spelling, so I think I would do well.

This article also stated that "this is a business, folks".  It is a vocation; writers must fully commit themselves if they want to be successful. And this means never giving up.



Leave a Reply.